Toasted Muesli recipe

toasted muesli

I loooooove homemade, toasted muesli. I have been making it for over 7 years, always variations of the same adapted recipe, and I still love it. Which for me is rare as I am nothing if not a fairweather friend when it comes to food (and well, most things…) but my love affair with this crunchy stuff has stood the test of time. It’s not only yum-tastic, but also fills me up and keeps me going much longer then any other breakfast. I used to hate breakfast (toast, meh, cornflakes, ugh,) but not since this bad boy came into my life. Ok, so you get it, I love toasted muesli.

So here is my recipe!

This makes a big batch (about 1.5kgs) which lasts only about a week in our house…

  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 1/2 cup of oil. I use rice bran, but any veg oil will do (olive works fine)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup brown sugar (depends on your sweet tooth) or stevia or omit this altogether
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 3 cups quick porriage oats
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup LSA (optional)
  • 1 cup pumkin seeds/pepitas
  • 1 cup cashews (raw)
  • 1 cup descicated coconut
  • 1 cup bran
  • tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • dried fruit of your choice e.g. sultanas, cranberries, apricots etc (add after cooking)

The best thing about this recipe is it is very forgiving if you are not exact with your measurements. I just make it by eye now and it always turns out fine. Also feel free to substitute any of the nuts/seeds for ones you prefer or have handy, again, it doesn’t really matter as long as your base of wet ingredients and oats is the same(ish).

Method:

Pretty simple, turn your oven on to 180 C and measure out the first 3 ingredients into a small saucepan. Heat until the sugar has melted and it starts to boil (it sort of looks like ‘foam’) stiring all the time, for about 2 minutes, no longer. It was hard to photograph this stage as you need to keep stiring otherwise you will end up with toffee!oil, sugar and honey

Place all your other dry ingredients (except for the dried friut!) into a large deep baking dish. DSCF9097Mix them together (I use my hands) then pour over the oil mixture. Stir it thoroughly so all the dry ingredients are coated, making sure you have got into the corners of the pan (or bowl – of course you can do it in a mixing bowl fist – I don’t simply to save dishes).

Now pop the baking tray in the oven, and set a timer for 10 mins. You will need to stir the muesli every ten mins or so, otherwise the edges will catch and burn. It takes anywhere between 30 mins and 1 hour to cook, so just keep setting the timer and stiring untill it is a lovely, toasted, golden colour. It is a bit of a faff the first time but once you get to know how long your oven takes it is less so. I tend to turn off the oven when it’s done, give it a final stir and leave it in the oven until it’s cooled. Then once its cool you can add any dried fruit that you like (if any) and trasfer it to an airtight container until breakfast. Of if you are like me, pop some in a bowl to enjoy straight away! x Toasted muesli with homemade yoghurt breakfast of champions

Leave a Reply

