It’s been a while…

Ah its been a bit quiet on the creative front lately (understatement) due to several factors… the main one being our whole household getting infected wirth strep throat!

Joy definetly isn’tΒ StreptococcusΒ . Strep is not something I was that familiar with. Oh but I am now believe me!

There wasn’t much that helped sooth my throat except a remedy I made from a mixture of apple cider vinegar and honey.

Sore throat cure

Sore and strep throat remedy:

  • 1 tablespoon of melted or runny Honey – (organic Manuka honey would be the best to use, but I used whatever was to hand)
  • 1 tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar (again, organic would be best I’m sure)
  • half a cup of water

Basically mix ingredients in a glass and gargle then spit out first, then gargle and then swallow the second time. Do this every hour. I kept my mixture in a jar in the fridge until I needed it.

It really helped to sooth it ansd I’m sure worked more effectivly then the antibiotics!

Here are some photos of us at our worst…

IMG_5402Poor little J probably had it bad. Very high fever, vomiting, and very swollen pussy tonsils, and an ear infection. I have never seen him so poorly 😦

IMG_4334Next to go down was me, I also got a lovely eye infection to complement the other symptoms nicely…

IMG_5434Mmmm attractive close up, it was so itchy and sore!

IMG_5505

And then it was poor S who was hit, and my husband too but luckily he got onto antibotics very quickly and evaded most of the symptoms other then a sore throat. Phew! S got strep and the eye infection as well… 4 days of not eating and finally he had an ice lollie (ice block to NZers!)Β IMG_5511

Finally everyone was on the mend and I breathed a sigh of relief that things could go back to normal… But I relaxed too soon, as one week later I was driving home and my car was ht by a drunk driver! Luckily I was alone without the kids and was hit on the passenger side. I have to say it was one of the scariest moment of my life when I was hit and both airbags went off. Plus, the naughty scoundrel drove off, but the hapless fool didn’t reckon on the fact that he had left part of his car beind with the number plate on it, so the police were quickly on his tail and caught him, ha! He is being charged on 3 counts, reckless driving, driving under the influence of alcohol and fleeing the scene of an accident. Unfortunately I had to spend 3 hours horizontal in a neck brace in A&E which was scary, but 8 x-rays later I was given the all clear and could go home and hug my family. It’s definately times like these that make me question why we live in New Zealand so far away from family…

car crash

Still, I am counting my blessings as even though the car is a written off, we had insurance and I walked away pretty much unharmed.

Life is precious, don’t sweat the small stuff people! x

Leave a Reply

