An Obsession with Polymer Clay

So, it appears I have gone “cray cray” over polymer clay. Ever since seeing a friend wearing a necklace a few weeks ago with these beautifully coloured beads that looked as if they were made of sugar candy, I knew I had to get my hands on the stuff. I literally started dreaming about it. And now I have, I have found it is deeply theraputic to mix different coloured clay to exactly the right shade, and shape the clay into perfectly round balls, or try to create a geometric shape that doesn’t look like a half chewed peice of cheese (harder then you would think). The best thing about it is its relatively mess free but still very tactile, doesn’t take up much space and I can craft away at the kitchen table whilst listening to a bit of BBC radio and sipping on a cup of tea. Bliss. But then I realised that I needed to have a purpose, rather then just aimlessly making shapes, so inspired by that necklace that started me off I am dipping my toes into making some jewellery. Dangerous waters I feel, as polymer clay can easily be Bad with a caplital B…a box of goodies

The supplies arrived. You gotta love the internet! Oops I may have sneaked in more then just polymer clay…

 candy beads

Ok so the clay I am using is called Premo Sculpty, but I know that ‘another’ name for this stuff, the name I remember it by, is Fimo. But Fimo, woah, wait a minute, that is just not cool. I mean, its for kids surely? – I first found love with polymer clay back when I was about 12, I remember hours spent creating ‘delightful’ jewellery containing teeny tiny models of fruit. A whole greengrocers strung on a necklace if I remember correctly. Ahhh bless my mum for wearing my creations! Luckily, I feel my skill level and tastes may have (fingers tightly crossed) improved 20 years on so I am hoping that my new found obsession may acually be profitable this time round. And I am determined to make fimo, ahem, I mean polyer clay, cool again! Yeah baby! (Memo to self – steering well clear of miniture bananas is key)

Ta Dah!!! Freshly baked clay beads and earings (No fruits were attempted at any stage)

polymer earings

tutti fruiti polymer necklaceI hope I’m still allowed to use fruity colours…?

Its still a work in progress creating them into wearable peices of jewellery but I hope to have enough made up to be able to sell them soon! I am thinking etsy and my facebook page… I will also do a little tutorial too so watch this space…………………………….. (Not actually that space. That would be silly) x

5 thoughts on “An Obsession with Polymer Clay

  1. Love the beads you’ve created! One of my jewellery making aims is to learn about polymer clay, and I need to get round to it one day! But hey, making fruits isn’t SO bad… There’s a great book called the “polymer clay cookbook” you may have heard of, and some of the creations in there are pretty fantastic! If you’re secretly still into the whole fruit “thing” then anything can be made cool if you try hard enough!

Leave a Reply

