Fairies in a Jar (The truth exposed!)

I kept seeing this photo on pinterest time and time again, and know that I had to try it as well, it looks amazing so who wouldn’t want to give it a go?!

fairies in jarPhoto from pinterest

But before I continue, can I just say one thing, the above photo is IN NOW WAY REAL!!!!! It is, I am convinced 100% photoshopped. Even though we followed the instructuions to the letter, the results were nothing like this photo. However it was still pretty awe inspiring for my boys and so I would say that it is still worth trying to make ‘Faries in a jar’ but just prepare yourself (or maybe your kids) for a slightly more realistic outcome, as I have shown in my photos here.

You will need:

  • a jar with a lid
  • a glowstick
  • some diamond coloured glitter (I am not utterly convinced I used the right sort of glitter, or that it is even necessary but we went with it as per the original instructions)
  • scissors

Fairies in a jar

You need to make sure that the next part is fully supervised as glow sticks can contain some nasty stuff in them that you don’t want your littlies getting on themselves…

Snap your glowstick to make it ‘glow’, then carefully cut the top off to shake it in the jar. If you find this tricky (as I did) cut both ends off and blow (without putting your lip to the glowstick!) the contents into the jar. I found blowing it in more sucessful then shaking… Note the distance I was blowing from!

blowing the glowstick into the jarmaking fairies

Then add your glitter, and pop the lid on…

Then shake!

Thats it!!!

Next, overcome the slight dissapointment that it doesn’t look remotely like the pinterest photo…

Then marvel at the glowy-ness…

Now quickly retreat to a darkened room for fairy watching!Fairies in a jarWatching fairies in a jarFairiesThe Fairy CatcherHere is my little fairy-catcher.

The boys had a jar of fairies each, and were very excited to go to bed with them as a glowey nightlight next to their beds. As I said earlier, I think the glowsick liquid shaken in the jar was what produce d the look of the fairies – I am not sure the glitter did much to add to the effect, however as the glow faded by morning it was nice to see the glitter inside the jar. I think in hindsight perhaps a jar of water filled with diamond glitter might make a more similar effect to the pinterest photo…?

I wil have to try it and see! x

 

7 thoughts on “Fairies in a Jar (The truth exposed!)

    • No it doesn’t! I thought it should so I have tried it with water, but the stuff from inside the glow sticks no longer glows in water. You just shake it into the jar with glitter, that’s it!

  1. Glad you set me straight on this! I keep trying to achieve the look of the picture! Bought and used many different grades, colors, $$$ of glitter. It’s cool, but no, the photograph is deceiving.

  2. We also made one with glow in the dark Tulip paint. (it is “rechargeable”). You dot the inside of the jar with the paints and a brush (start at the bottom of the jar), let it dry and charge it in light/sunlight.

Leave a Reply

